Log in

I forgot my password

Who is online?
In total there are 5 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 5 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 41 on Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:18 pm
Latest topics
» Whaddup
Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:52 am by ichbinsehselber

» Who's still here? :Roll Call:
Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:36 am by Xmo5

» AWBW Discord Server
Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:59 pm by ichbinsehselber

» Map Category Descriptions
Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:54 am by WalkerBoh

» Sonja SCOP
Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:26 am by Xmo5

» Map Editor and Move Planner and User Search at ruinedshadows.com
Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:36 am by WalkerBoh

» AWBW Replay Saver
Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:33 am by ruinedshadows

» AWBW Game Replay Saver
Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:32 am by ruinedshadows

» High Funds Maps & FTA Review
Tue Jun 13, 2017 2:30 am by WalkerBoh

Top posting users this month
ichbinsehselber
 
Annapocalypse
 
Xmo5
 


March 1st Global League - Patch Notes Preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down

March 1st Global League - Patch Notes Preview

Post  Best Sakuya NA on Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:48 pm

Hey AWBW community! Going forward, the Map Committee will be doing their best to post updates, or patch notes, on Global League changes further in advance than before. This will allow you to see future planned changes to the Global League before they happen, and give meaningful feedback before the patch hits. Anyways, moving on to the March update. This is the first update where we decided after a long deliberation to make changes to the Persistent Maps for the first time since they were selected. This does not mean that the Persistent Maps will suddenly be updated once every few months, but it does mean that we think it's okay to occasionally make small edits to them over the course of 3-6 months months or so. Nothing is set in stone yet, but it feels like a good net change for the Persistent Maps right now. Please feel free to give your feedback on these changes.

March 1st Patch Notes Preview:

Persistent League Map Changes

Remove Bible Black
Remove Iconic
Add Masked Fury
Add Scorpion Operation

Walker Boh wrote:Bible Black
Excellent gameplay, but probably some non-negligible STA. I think we can probably find another good base trade map to take its place.

Bible Black is an extremely well designed 2v1 base trade map, but upon years of cumulative analysis, puts a bit too much emphasis on the advantages of player 2, namely in how many key game changing properties are captured early by their FTA counter base. No one on the Map Committee is denying that the map is great, but we decided to replace it with another 2v1 map that is in a bit of a revival currently, and gaining steam in the competitive community, Scorpion Operation, which does not feature the same issues now emerging on Bible Black.

Walker Boh wrote:Iconic
This one also develops into a bit of a cluster in the mid-game. I'm a bit biased towards this map because I really like the capture phase and aesthetics, but objectively it probably should be replaced.

Similarly, while Iconic is a great map with some great ideas, in particular the B-Copter/Tank counter built into its capture phase, the Map Committee decided that there are better options available for this Persistent Map slot. As members of the Map Committee, it's important that we are as diligent as possible in analyzing balance issues, but also when we can simply improve the Global League map list with better selections, even if the current selections are still playable. Masked Fury is a map that honestly should have had more time in the Global League when it was originally created. A great map for tournaments and Global League alike, it should serve well in the upcoming Persistent Map update.

---

Rotation League Map Changes

Remove Battle of Thermopyrae
Remove A Normal 1v1
Move Masked Fury to Persistent
Move Scorpion Operation to Persistent
Remove Twisted Fate
Add Bandit Revolver GL
Add Baelor
Add Corporeal
Add Distant Memories
Add Off Guard

The Rotation Maps for removal this week show how Rotation Maps can either be removed from Rotation entirely, cycled back into later Rotations, or even become future Persistent Maps. It's a system that we're very proud of and allows for the Global League to stay fresh, but also maintain some consistency. Once again, please feel free to give your feedback on these changes.
avatar
Best Sakuya NA
Admin

Posts Posts : 976
Funds Funds : 4849
Reputation Reputation : 102
Join date : 2009-05-17
Age : 27
Location : Between 'Here be Dragons' and the edge of the map

http://www.takeyourturn.net

Back to top Go down

Re: March 1st Global League - Patch Notes Preview

Post  WalkerBoh on Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:14 pm

Great post, thanks Mori!

If anyone has a concern about any of the current or upcoming League maps, please let us know. I know the FANG has expressed a concern about the current Rotation map Enuma Elish, which we're looking into, and I would strongly encourage anyone else to share thoughts on maps they've played on. It really helps us out a ton when we're making decisions about what to add and remove.

Thanks!

WalkerBoh
AWBW Map Committee
AWBW Map Committee

Posts Posts : 272
Funds Funds : 1704
Reputation Reputation : 102
Join date : 2014-01-10

Back to top Go down

Re: March 1st Global League - Patch Notes Preview

Post  Best Sakuya NA on Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:12 am

March Global League changes are now live. Enjoy the new Rotation and Persistent map options!
avatar
Best Sakuya NA
Admin

Posts Posts : 976
Funds Funds : 4849
Reputation Reputation : 102
Join date : 2009-05-17
Age : 27
Location : Between 'Here be Dragons' and the edge of the map

http://www.takeyourturn.net

Back to top Go down

Re: March 1st Global League - Patch Notes Preview

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum